Broker Salesperson
Real Estate Sales License Requirements
Who Must Obtain this License
This license is required of individuals who are to be employed as salespersons under the supervision of a licensed broker. A license may also be obtained by a person who does not immediately intend to be employed by a broker. However, a salesperson without an employing broker may not perform acts requiring a license. The license authorizes real estate activity only if the salesperson is in the employ of a licensed broker.
Minimum Requirements to Apply for the Salesperson Examination and License
To obtain a real estate salesperson license, you must first qualify for and pass a written examination. Those who pass the examination are provided a license application which must be submitted to and approved by the DRE.
Note: Individuals may also apply and pay for their real estate examination and license at the same time by submitting a Combination Salesperson Exam/License Application (RE 435).
Age
You must be 18 years of age or older to be issued a license.
Residence
Proof of legal presence in the United States is required. If you do not reside in California.
Honesty
Applicants must be honest and truthful. Conviction of a crime may result in the denial of a license. Failure to disclose any criminal violation or disciplinary action in an applicant's entire history may also result in denial of a license.
Education
Successful completion of the following college-level courses is required to become a real estate salesperson: One course from the following list:
Note: Members of the California State Bar are statutorily exempt from the college-level course requirements. Evidence of admission to practice Law in California must be furnished, such as photocopy of both sides of a California State Bar membership card.
More...
How to Apply for the Real Estate Sales License Examination
Note: Initial examination scheduling cannot occur until your application has been approved by the DRE
Submit the following:
Completed Examination Application (RE400A). No changes of any kind will be made to an application once it has been received by DRE. Do not submit more than one examination application. You may not apply to take an examination for a license for which you already have a right for renewal.
$60.00 fee. Checks or money orders should be made payable to the Department of Real Estate. Do not send cash.
Transcript showing successful completion of the statutory college-level real estate courses and degrees.
Fingerprint Processing
Original license applicants who reside in California will pay the fingerprint fee directly to the live scan fingerprint service provider — not to the DRE. The service provider may also charge a processing fee.